EAST TROY COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION

Regular Meeting Minutes - August 8, 2022

The East Troy Community School District Board met in regular session on August 8, 2022. The meeting was called to order by President Ted Zess at 6:00 p.m followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. Board members also present were Dale Ames, Anna Janusz, Steve Lambrechts, and Adam Witkiewicz. Also present were Dr. Christopher Hibner, Amy Foszpanczyk, Kathy Zwirgzdas, administrators/ supervisors, and one guest. Ted Zess read the open meeting statement indicating that the meeting is open to the public as required by state statute and that notice of the meeting had been sent to the media and/or posted.

IV. APPROVAL OF AGENDA AS POSTED

A motion was made by Anna Janusz and seconded by Steve Lambrechts for the approval of the agenda as posted. Motion carried unanimously.

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Steve Lambrechts and seconded by Anna Janusz for the approval of the minutes on June 6, 2022 and July 11, 2022 (regular board minutes), July 13, 2022 and July 20, 2022 (special board minutes). Motion carried unanimously.

VI. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION PER BOARD POLICY

None.

VII. FINANCIAL REPORT

Dale Ames made a motion to approve the June 2022 payments in the amount of \$4,704,486.10 and receipts in the amount of \$948,322.49 as reflected on the financial statements. Adam Witkiewicz seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

VIII. DISCUSSION/ACTION ITEMS

A. <u>District Celebration(s)</u>: Mary Schreiber alumni was congratulated to represent WI and our school as a State FFA Officer. Stacey Kuehn discussed the new CNA program. Dr. Hibner also mentioned the new highlights of the brochure of East Troy Schools.

- B. <u>Staffing resignation(s)</u>: Ted Zess made a motion to approve the resignation of Stephanie Iodence MS social studies teacher and Kim Frazier MS math teacher, pending payment of liquidated damages. Adam Witkiewicz seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.
- C. Staffing recommendation(s): Anna Janusz made a motion to approve the hire of Carly Bakken for primary special education teacher. Dale Ames seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Anna Janusz made a motion to approve Kathy Robb for HS special education teacher and was seconded by Ted Zess. Motion carried unanimously. Adam Witkiewicz made a motion to approve Kendra Larson for PV 4th grade teacher and Hannah Bradley for PV 5th grade teacher seconded by Dale Ames. Motion carried unanimously. Ted Zess made a motion to approve Kathy Hoff for MS math and Sarah Schmitz for MS reading interventionist, seconded by Dale Ames. Motion carried unanimously. Ted Zess made a motion to approve Sydney Feenstra as MS Physical Education teacher, Cassie Rice as MS Dean/Counselor, and Amberleigh Cellak as MS/HS choir teacher seconded by Anna Janusz. Motion carried unanimously. Ted Zess made a motion to approve Amanda McLernon for the MS/HS science teacher, Dayne Schleusner for HS social studies, Kimberly Koth for HS social studies, and Ben Hertel for HS counselor, seconded by Adam Witkiewicz. Motion carried unanimously. Ted Zess made a motion to approve Brad Wareing for Transportation Mechanic seconded by Anna Janusz. Motion carried unanimously.
- D. <u>COVID-19 infection control and mitigation measures:</u> Dr. Hibner discussed that we will be continuing with cleaning measures, we have the HVAC filtration system, and we will have language within handbooks for students and staff that test positive to remain out for 5 days and any in household exposure to someone that has tested positive and the in household individual is now symptomatic, must remain out for five days. Lastly, virtual learning live stream via ETCSD will only be available for a student that is out due to a chronic illness per medical documentation.
- E. <u>Referenda discussion related to process and necessary direction/determination regarding possible November or April referendum:</u> Dr. Hibner discussed a Nov and April timeline for referendum. Next steps were suggested for April, with a master calendar of details, specific dates, and responsibilities done in a future workshop session. Dr. Hibner will work with Doreen to begin a template.
- F. <u>Preliminary discussion regarding district financial options as it relates to the tax levy and investment of district funds:</u> Moved to executive session.
- G. Enhancement / supplemental compensation request: Moved to executive session.

IX. ADMINISTRATIVE REPORTS

- A. <u>District Administrator Report:</u>
- Introduce Amanda Jones (Director of Pupil Services) and Adam Trindl (Principal of Middle School)
- ii. Welcome Back Newsletter to families
- iii. Welcome Back Letter to Staff and August Inservice Schedule
- iv. Operational Subcommittee Minutes (July meeting)
- B. Business Manager Report: None
- C. Director of Teaching and Continuous Improvement of Student Learning Report:
- i. New Educator Induction Week
- ii. Student Learning
- D. <u>Director of Pupil Services:</u> None.
- E. School Board President's Report: None.

X. POLICY REVIEW AND DEVELOPMENT

None.

XI. COMMUNICATIONS/ANNOUNCEMENTS

None.

XII. BOARD OF EDUCATION – FUTURE ITEMS

None.

XIII. ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION

Ted Zess made a motion to adjourn to executive session for the discussion of enhancement/supplemental compensation request and preliminary discussion regarding district financial options as it relates to the tax levy and investment of district funds as provided under 19.85(1)(b), 19.85(1)(c), and 19.85(1)(e). Anna Janusz seconded the motion. Roll call vote to adjourn to executive session: Steve Lambrechts-Yes, Adam Witkiewicz-Yes, Dale Ames-Yes, Anna Janusz-Yes, Ted Zess-Yes. Motion carried unanimously and moved to executive session at 7:42 pm.

XIV. RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

Ted Zess made a motion to resume to open session at 8:55 p.m. Adam Witkiewicz seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously. Ted Zess made a motion to approve the enhancement pay as presented. Dale Ames seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

XV. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Ted Zess and seconded by Adam Witkiewicz to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 8:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Steve Lambrechts